Buttoning Up the Ranch (Amy LaValley, West Chazy, NY)

haflingers-grazing

In addition to packing for a family of 5 (which by the way may require a U-hual van), we also need to ensure that all 24 horses and 2 dogs are taken care of. Luckily, I have some very responsible (and willing) individuals to meet those needs. The horses are being tended to by my “head wrangler”, Bill. Bill, with the help of several others (Tracy, Gretchen, Tricia, Tori, and Julie) will be responsible for all the daily chores. They hold all the responsibility of making sure the horses are fed and watered twice/day, stalls are mucked daily, and general maintenance is in order while we are away. I have faith that my barn will look just as I left it when I return.

dan-and-kids-on-atvI know I can count on my father and his patrol to keep things in line if all else fails.

As for the 2 dogs, Bill will also be in charge of our 11 year old watch dog, LL Cool Jake.ll-cool-jake

Our second dog, Paisley is a little more high maintenance. She is a 10 month old Cocker Spaniel puppy. My sister, Melissa and her 2 children, Logan and Mallory will tend to her.

 

paisley1

So much to do any only 2 days left until the big trip.

One Response

  1. Hey Guys, Thanks for your confidence in me, as you head off to the “balmy” D.C. area! I’ll do my best, along with my harem of helpers, to keep the stable on an even keel (: Enjoy your stay, and say “Hi” to Lori for me!! Later, the Head Wrangler

Leave a Reply

